
Your rights as parents when 
your child is removed from your home

Your child is being taken into ■■

immediate custody. 

Your child will be placed in a ■■

safe environment.
When a law enforcement officer or judge believes that 
your child is in an environment dangerous to your 
child’s well-being, your child will be taken to a shelter 
facility. If your child is not going to be released to you, 
there must be a court hearing. It is very important that 
you go to this court hearing.

Your child may not be kept in custody longer than 
72 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) without a 
court hearing. If a hearing is not held within 72 hours 
(excluding weekends and holidays) after your child 
is taken into custody, your child must be returned to 
you. Your child may be released sooner if the release is 
approved by law enforcement. The county social service 
agency may also request authorization for release. 

The law enforcement officer taking your child must ■■

tell you, your child and the court the reason your 
child was taken into custody.

Law enforcement or county social services must tell ■■

you where your child is, unless telling you would 
place your child in immediate danger.

You have the right to visit your child in the shelter ■■

facility. You should call your county social service 
office as soon as possible to request assistance for your 
family.

Your child has rights too: the right to an attorney or a 
guardian ad litem to protect your child’s interest; also, 
the right to telephone parents.

If your child is a member of an Indian tribe, or 
is eligible for membership in an Indian tribe, your 
entire family has the right to the protection of the 
Indian Child Welfare Act, the Minnesota Indian 
Family Preservation Act and the Minnesota Tribal/State 
Agreement on Indian Child Welfare. Contact your 
tribe for information and assistance.

Seek help and attend the court 
hearing involving your child.

Immediately contact relatives or close friends to ■■

see if they could temporarily care for your child. Take 
your relatives or friends to court with you to explain 
to the court that your child can be safely returned to 
you. Relatives or friends might be eligible for foster 
care payments if they care for your child.

If you don’t agree that your child was in a dangerous ■■

environment, bring witnesses and evidence to the 
court hearing to help explain this.

If you don’t know the date and time and place of the ■■

hearing, call your social worker or the juvenile court 
in your county.

Unless the court finds that your child would be in ■■

immediate danger, your child will be returned to you 
at the first hearing, 

You have the right to be represented by a lawyer. ■■

You may request a public defender if you cannot 
afford a lawyer.

You may have to wait until the day of the hearing to ■■

speak with a public defender. If so, go to the court 
early and ask to meet with your public defender.

You may have the right to have an interpreter in court ■■

with you if English is not your first language or if you 
have a hearing impairment. For more information, 
ask your local county service agency.

Call your county social service office as soon as ■■

possible to request assistance for your family.
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This information is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities 
by calling us at (651) 431-4671. TTY users can call through Minnesota 
Relay at (800) 627-3529. For Speech-to-Speech, call (877) 627-3848. 
For additional assistance with legal rights and protections for equal access to 
human services benefits, contact your agency’s ADA coordinator.

Attention. If you want free help translating this information, ask your worker or call the number below for your 
language.

kMNt’sMKal’ ebIG~kcg’VnCMnYybkE¨bBtámanenHedayminKit«fÂ sUmsYrG~kkan’sMNuMerOgrbs’G~k É TUrs&BæeTAelx  
1-888-468-3787 .

Pažnja. Ako vam je potrebna besplatna pomoć za prevod ove informacije, pitajte vašeg radnika ili nazovite  
1-888-234-3785.

Ceeb toom. Yog koj xav tau kev pab txhais cov xov no rau koj dawb, nug koj tus neeg lis dej num (worker) 
lossis hu 1-888-486-8377.

ໂປຼດ ຊາບ. ຖ້າ ຫາກ ທ່ານ ຕ້ອງການ ການ ຊ່ວຍເືອ ໃນ ການ ແປ ຂຄວາມ ດ ງກ່າວ ນ ຟຣີ, ຈ ງ ຖາມ ນ� ພ ນກັ ງານ ຊ່ວຍ ວຽກ ຂອງ ທ່ານ ື ໂທຣ໌ 
ຫາຕາມ ເລກ ໂທຣ໌ 1-888-487-8251.

Hubaddhu. Yoo akka odeeffannoon kun sii hiikamu gargaarsa tolaa feeta ta’e, hojjataa kee gaafaddhu ykn  
lakkoofsa kana bilbili 1-888-234-3798.

Внимание: если вам нужна бесплатная помощь в переводе этой информации, обратитесь к своему 
социальному работнику или позвоните по следующему телефону: 1-888-562-5877.

Ogow. Haddii aad dooneyso in lagaa kaalmeeyo tarjamadda macluumaadkani oo lacag la’aan ah, weydii hawl-
wadeenkaaga ama wac lambarkan 1-888-547-8829.

Atención. Si desea recibir asistencia gratuita para traducir esta información, consulte a su trabajador o llame al  
1-888-428-3438.

Chú Ý. Nếu quý vị cần dịch thông-tin nầy miễn phí, xin gọi nhân-viên xã-hội của quý vị hoặc gọi số  
1-888-554-8759.
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