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This handbook gives general information about
Minnesota’s child support program. Because parentage
and child support are important issues, you may wish
to contact an attorney. The Minnesota Department

of Human Services Child Support Division and county
child support agencies can help you if you apply for or
are referred for child support services, but they cannot
give you legal advice about your case.




Definitions

Arrears: The terms arrears, and arrearage, mean
support obligation amounts that are overdue and
unpaid.

Child: An individual under 18 years of age; an
individual under 20 years who is still attending
secondary school; or an individual who, by reason
of physical or mental condition, is incapable of self-
support.

Child support: Money parents pay for the care,
support and education of their children. It may include
a monthly court-ordered amount for basic support,
child care support and medical support.

Contempt of court: Not doing what the court has
ordered you to do.

Establishing parentage: The process to create

a legal relationship between a child and the child’s
parent when no legal relationship previously existed.
Actions to establish a legal relationship between a
child and the child’s father are informally referred
to as paternity actions.

Federal Case Registry: This registry contains limited
information about each child support case in the
United States. It matches quarterly wage information
and unemployment insurance records submitted by
each state with the National Directory of New Hires.

Good cause: A county agency determination that a
public assistance recipient does not have to cooperate
with the child support agency because the recipient or

child may be in danger of physical or emotional harm if

efforts are made either to adjudicate parentage, or to
establish or enforce support.

Joint child: The dependent child who is the child
of both parents in the support proceeding. In cases
where support is sought from only one parent of a
child, a joint child is the child for whom support is
sought.

National Directory of New Hires: The directory
containing information employers are required by
federal law to report about newly hired and rehired
employees. The directory uses information from

the Federal Case Registry to match social security
numbers and report job information to the Minnesota
child support agency.

Nonjoint child: The legal child of one, but not both,
of the parents subject to the legal action being taken.
Stepchildren are excluded from this definition.

Obligee: A person to whom payments for
maintenance or support are owed.

Obligor: A person obligated to pay maintenance or
support. For purposes of ordering medical support, a
parent who has primary physical custody of a child may
be an obligor.

Parenting time: The time a parent spends with a
child regardless of the custodial designation regarding
the child. Parenting time has also been referred to as
visitation.

Public assistance: Benefits from a state or federal
program. Public assistance programs include the
Diversionary Work Program; the Minnesota Family
Investment Program, which is Minnesota’s Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families program; Tribal
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families; Child Care
Assistance Program; Medical Assistance; and Title IV-E
Foster Care services.
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Every child has the right to this support from

both parents. Devoted parents can be loving and
supportive forces in a child’s life. Even when parents
do not live together, they need to work together to
support their child.

Every child needs financial and emotional support.

Without the involvement of both parents, too many
children do not get the chance they need and deserve
to reach their full potential.

You make a difference
in your children’s lives.
Be there for them.

Minnesota’s child support program helps parents
establish a financial partnership.

The Minnesota Department of Human Services, Child
Support Division and county child support agencies
work with both parents to establish and enforce
support orders. Together, they help families become
and remain self-sufficient through improved child
support collections.

What is child support?

Child support is money parents pay to their child’s
other parent or caregiver to support their child.

The court orders the support, which generally includes
basic, medical and child care support.

The support may be part of an interim, temporary,
permanent or modified court order in a:

Divorce or legal separation

Paternity action

Order for protection

Child custody action

Separate child support action.

What child support services
are available?

Full child support services
Locating parents
Establishing parentage
Establishing court orders for basic, medical and
child care support

Reviewing and asking the court to modify
basic, medical and child care support orders
when appropriate

® Adjusting support orders based on the
cost-of-living index

B Enforcing support orders

® Working with other states to establish and enforce
support orders

B Processing payments received by the
Child Support Payment Center for child support
and spousal maintenance.

Full services are not available for the collection of
spousal maintenance if the order does not include
child support.

Income withholding-only services
Services are limited to processing child support
and spousal maintenance payments only. No other
services are provided.

The obligee, or obligee’s representative, must
serve the income withholding notice on the
employer or payor of funds.

Only service available for the collection of spousal
maintenance when child support is not ordered.

The obligor is charged a $15 per month fee
for this service.

Who can use these services?
Full child support services are available to:

Parents of minor children if one parent does not
live with the child

Parents who pay court-ordered child support

People who have court-ordered, physical custody
of a minor child

People who receive public assistance for a minor
child who lives in their home.

What services are not provided?
Child support services do not include:
Divorce assistance
Parenting time or custody assistance

Spousal maintenance order establishment
or modification

Collection of:
= Bills not related to support
® Property settlements

" Attorney’s fees, except in limited circumstances
(Minn. Stat. § 518A.735)

B | egal advice or counsel.
If you need any of these services, contact an attorney.



How can | apply for

child support services?
You can apply for child support services through your
county child support agency. Return a completed
application to your county child support agency.

?

If you or your dependent minor child(ren) receive
benefits from the Diversionary Work Program,
Minnesota Family Investment Program, Tribal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Medical
Assistance or Child Care Assistance Program, your
financial worker will provide the child support agency
information about you. The agency will open a case
for you and will expect you to provide information
and cooperate in establishing paternity, establishing
an order for support and collecting support. If you
receive only Medical Assistance, you may choose to
have full child support services or only medical support
services.

Are there any fees?

Federal Annual Fee - Each year, non-public
assistance child support cases (cases where public
assistance has never been provided) are charged a
non-refundable $35 fee after at least $550 in support
payments have been paid to the family. Federal
annual fees are automatically deducted from support
payments made to obligees, and are collected

during each federal fiscal year, from October 1

to September 30.

Federal Tax Refund Offset Fee - An Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) fee is deducted from the
obligor’s tax refund(s) collected for past due support
before being disbursed as a support payment to

the obligee. The obligor is credited with the full tax
refund(s) amount collected. Therefore, the obligee
pays this fee.

State Tax Refund Offset Fee - The Commissioner
of Revenue charges a $15.00 fee for each collection it
makes through state tax intercept. The child support
agency receives the collection minus the $15.00

fee and credits the obligor for only the amount the
Department receives. Therefore, the obligor pays

this fee.

Cost Recovery Fee - Each year the child support
agency charges a fee to applicants for child support
services to help pay the costs of operating the child
support program. The applicant is the person who
completed the Application for Support and Collection
Services (DHS 1958) or is the person referred to
the child support program by one of the applicable
public assistance programs. Currently the fee is up
to 2% of the support collected by the child support
agency from the obligor and is retained directly
from the support. Child support applicants receiving
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public assistance or child support applicants who have
received public assistance in the last 24 months, will
not be charged the fee. There is a cap on the fee which
is adjusted annually.

Other States’ Fees - If the child support agency
refers my case to another state for enforcement, the
other state may charge a fee for a particular service.
The other state may collect its fees by retaining a part
of the child support collection.

After | apply, what else must | do?

You must take an active role in your case. Cooperating
with your child support agency makes establishing

an order more efficient and makes collecting regular
support payments more likely.

You must report changes that may affect your case.
You must contact your county child support agency if:

You or the other parent have new contact
information

You or the other parent have change in income
You or the other parent have a change in your
child’s health care coverage

Your child moves or graduates from high school
Your child no longer receives child care

You have new information that might help locate
the other parent

You apply for public assistance

You are involved in other court actions regarding
support payments or parenting time.

What if | receive public assistance?
If you or your dependent minor children receive
public assistance, the other parent may be
ordered to pay child support. When the child
support agency collects current basic support,
they send the support to you. Two months later,
the department may adjust your public assistance
amount or grant. However, the first $100 (for one
child) or $200 (for two or more children) of child
support received each month will not reduce your
public assistance.

If you or your children receive Minnesota Family
Investment Program benefits, you will receive any
current basic support collected in the month that
it is due. Support that is not paid during any month
you receive cash assistance is owed to the state to
reimburse MFIP benefits issued to you and your
children.

If you or your children receive Diversionary Work
Program benefits, Medical Assistance or child
care assistance, you will receive the current basic
support collected in the month that it is due, but
you will not receive the medical and child care
support collected for that month.


https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/programs-services/applying-for-services.jsp

B If you receive court-ordered child support directly
from the other parent, you must report it to your
county child support agency. Obligors should pay
child support through the state and not directly to
the other parent.

B If the child support agency has to establish
paternity for your child or locate the other parent,
you must cooperate by providing complete and
correct information.

If you do not cooperate with the child support
agency, the department may reduce your public
assistance benefits and end your coverage under
Medical Assistance. If you have reason not to
cooperate, you may claim good cause. If your good
cause is granted, you do not have to cooperate
with the child support agency because the county
has determined you or your child may be physically
or emotionally harmed if efforts are made to
legally determine paternity, establish support or
enforce support.

If Medical Assistance is the only public assistance
your child receives and you do not want full child
support services, you may be eligible for medical-
only services. With medical-only services, the
county child support office will be involved with
establishing and enforcing medical support. The
child support agency will not establish or enforce
basic or child care support. When your child no
longer receives public health coverage, you may
close your case or request full services. Contact
your county child support office to request
medical-only services.

If the state makes a mistake and gives you
more money than you should have received,
the department may adjust your grant and
may require you to repay all or a portion of
the overpayment.

If | apply for child support services,
do | II:ave any rights?
Yes. You have the right to:

® Receive fair and nondiscriminatory treatment

® Be notified of all important actions concerning
your case

B Participate in any court action involving your case

m Ask the child support agency to review and file
a motion with the court to modify your support
order if appropriate.

Is my child support information private?
Child support information is private data under the
Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. The child
support agency can give private or nonpublic data
about individuals to:

The person who is the subject of the data
Others who the law says can see the data

Others who the subject of the data states, in
writing, can see the data

Court and all other parties when filing legal
documents; generally, court files are available to
the public.

What if | have safety concerns?

The child support agency shares your address and
other identifying information with other state and
federal agencies and the courts as allowed by state and
federal law. The information you provide may become
available to the other parent. Contact your local child
support agency to discuss available options if you

have concerns that seeking to establish, modify or
enforce an order of support will create a risk of harm
to yourself or your child.

The child support agency is required to protect
information concerning your whereabouts from the
other party if:

You provide evidence that there is a protective or
restraining order in effect against the other party

The child support office determines, based on
information provided by you, that release of such
information may result in physical or emotional
harm to you or your child.

Most public assistance programs will refer your case to
the child support program as a requirement for receipt
of public assistance. If you fear that you or your child
will be at risk of domestic violence if paternity or an
order of support is established or enforced, you may
claim good cause from cooperating with the child
support program. You may claim good cause if:

Cooperation is expected to result in physical or
emotional harm of a serious nature to the child for
whom support is sought;

Cooperation is expected to result in physical

or emotional harm of a serious nature to you,
sufficient to impair the caretaker’s ability to care
for the child adequately;

The child was conceived as a result of incest or
rape; or

Adoption of the child is pending before a court, or
you are working with an agency that is helping you
decide if you should place the child for adoption
and the work has gone on for three months or

fewer.
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What must be done before | can
get a child support order?

Before a child support agency can get an order from
the court, it must notify the people involved that it is
trying to establish an order. The child support agency
cannot take action in some cases if it cannot locate
both parents.

If a child support agency does not know where a
parent lives or works, it gathers information from
many places including:

Unemployment records

Credit-reporting agency records

Financial records

Public assistance and food support records

Social services records

Motor vehicle registration and

driver’s license records

Minnesota Department of

Natural Resources records

United States Postal Service

Current and previous employers

Current and previous utility companies

Law enforcement agencies,

parole and probation offices

State licensing boards

Military records

The Federal Case Registry

National Directory of New Hire Reporting.

How do parents establish
parentage?

If a mother is unmarried when her child is born,

the child does not have a legal father. Unmarried
parents can establish a legal father for their child by
going through a legal action in court or by signing
the Minnesota Voluntary Recognition of Parentage
form (DHS-3159) and filing it with the Minnesota
Department of Health, Office of Vital Records.

Why is establishing a legal father
important?

Parentage must be established before the court can
order a father to pay child support or before the
court can order custody and parenting time. A child
must have a legal father before a father’s name can
be placed on the child’s birth record. Children with
legal fathers are entitled to benefits, including Social
Security benefits, veteran’s benefits and inheritance
rights through their fathers. Children may also benefit
by knowing their families’ biological, cultural and
medical histories.
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What is the difference between a

legal father and a biological father?

Every child has a biological father. The biological
father is the man with whom a child’s mother became
pregnant. The legal father may not necessarily be

the biological father. The legal father is the man the
law recognizes as the father of the child. Sometimes
parents want proof that the man is the biological
father of the child before he is named the legal father.
Parents can request genetic testing. This testing can
exclude a man who is not the biological father of

the child or it can show a greater than 99 percent
probability that the man is the biological father.

The child support agency can help you with genetic
testing.

Who establishes support orders?

The court establishes child support orders. The child
support agency or parent may ask the court to issue
a support order. The support order may be part of a
temporary, permanent or modified court order in:
divorce, paternity, child custody or a separate child
support action; a legal separation; or an order for
protection. The court generally orders the parent not
living with the child to pay support for the child to the
other parent. The court may order past support and
set the ongoing amount of basic medical and child
care support.

What does a child support order include?
Orders for child support generally include three types
of support. In some cases, the court may also order
past support.

Basic support

Basic support is for expenses relating to the child’s
care, housing, food, clothing and transportation.

The amount is determined by applying the parent’s
combined Parental Income for Determining Child
Support and the number of joint children to the basic
support guidelines table. The basic support obligation
does not include payment toward arrears.

Medical support

Medical support is for expenses related to health care
coverage, which may include medical, dental and/or
vision insurance.

Medical support may also include the court
ordering parents to contribute a monthly dollar
amount towards the cost of health care coverage
and/or Medical Assistance.

B The court may also order parents to pay a portion
of the uninsured and/or unreimbursed medical
expenses, which may include dental or vision costs.


https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-3159-ENG

Child care support

Child care support is for child care expenses that occur
when the parent the child lives with works or goes to
school. After reviewing income information from both
parents and the amount of child care expense, the
court decides each parent’s financial responsibility

for child care support.

Past support

In some cases, the court may order a child support
obligation for a period of time prior to the date the
order is signed (these are called retroactive orders).
Minnesota law only allows for retroactive child support
to go back two years prior to the service of a legal
action to establish child support, or the date of the
child’s birth, whichever is more recent.

Retroactive support or past support is not considered
arrears unless the court order does not set forth
repayment terms and/or the obligor does not comply
with the court-ordered repayment terms. Any failure
of the obligor to comply repayment terms for past
support will turn the entire amount into arrears.

How is the amount of
child support determined?

Child support is determined using the guidelines
established through Minnesota law and considers the
incomes of both parents, the number of children and
the actual cost of raising a child at various income
levels. The court may deviate from guidelines to
encourage prompt and regular payment of child
support and to prevent either parent or the joint
children from living in poverty.

Gross income

The guidelines use the gross income of both parents in
determining the basic support amount. Gross income
includes any form of monthly income received, but
does not include:

Compensation for employment in excess of 40
hours per week, with some exceptions

A child support payment received by a party

The income of the obligor’s spouse or the obligee’s
spouse

Public assistance benefits.

The guidelines require the addition of potential income
and the child’s social security or veteran benefits
coming from a parent’s eligibility.

The guidelines require the subtraction of

child support and/or spousal maintenance payments
ordered by the court for a nonjoint

child or former spouse.

Parental Income for Determining
Child Support

Parties who have nonjoint children living within their
home receive a deduction from their gross income.
The maximum number of deductions allowed for
nonjoint children is two. The resulting amount is the
Parental Income for Determining Child Support.

Basic support amount

The basic support amount is determined by using
the combined Parental Income for Determining
Child Support of both parents and finding the
corresponding income bracket in the basic support
guideline table. The basic support guideline table is
found in Minnesota Statutes 518A.35.

Percentage contribution

Determine the percentage contribution of each
parent by dividing the combined Parental Income for
Determining Child Support into each parent’s Parental
Income for Determining Child Support. The obligor’s
basic support obligation is determined by multiplying
the basic support amount by the percentage
contribution.

Parenting expense adjustment

The obligor is entitled to a parenting expense
adjustment for costs incurred while exercising
parenting time, such as food, transportation,
recreation and household expenses. The parenting
expense adjustment is based on the number of
overnights granted in a court order.

Self-support adjustment

A child support order should not exceed the amount
an obligor is able to pay. The court calculates the
obligor’s income available for support by subtracting
a self-support reserve equal to 120 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for one person from the
obligor’s gross income.

If the obligor’s income available for support is less than
the basic support amount, then the support is reduced
until the support order is equal to the obligor’s income
available for support.

Minimum basic support amount
If the obligor’s gross income is less than 120 percent
of the federal poverty guidelines for one person,
the court must order the following amounts as the
minimum basic support obligation.

® $50 per month for one or two children.

® $75 per month for three or four children.

® $100 per month for five or more children.



If the court finds the obligor receives no income
and completely lacks the ability to earn income, the
minimum basic support amount does not apply.

How to estimate your child support
obligation using the guidelines calculator
The Minnesota Department of Human Services Child
Support Division maintains a web-based calculator

on its public website. To access the calculator, visit
childsupportcalculator.dhs.state.mn.us/ .

This will bring you to the worksheet, worksheet
instructions and calculator.

Important disclaimer

The child support guidelines
worksheet, instructions and calculator
are for informational and educational
use only, and are not a guarantee of
the amount of child support the court
will order. The results obtained are
only as accurate as the information
provided. Other factors may affect the
actual child support order. The court
has the final authority to determine the
amount of the child support order.

What happens when a parent
does not pay child support?

When your child’s other parent does not pay the
child support obligation and you have an open case,
the child support agency takes action to enforce the
support order. Interest may be added to past-due
child support. Past-due child support remains

due until paid.

Cases must meet certain criteria before the child
support agency can take action. Generally, child
support policy allows enough time for the child
support agency to give an obligor proper notice

and an opportunity to pay the past-due amounts or to
establish a payment agreement. Some enforcement
actions take time and some actions may not be
appropriate for a case. The child support agency and
the county attorney may decide to take some actions
based on the circumstances of the case and

the likelihood of success.

What enforcement tools are used to
collect child support?

Contempt of court
The child support agency may ask the court to
find an obligor in contempt of court for not making
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support payments after the agency has reviewed
the circumstances of the case and the likelihood of
success. The parent must be:

B At least three months behind in
support payments

Failing to follow a payment agreement
Failing to respond to other enforcement tools.

The court may find parents in contempt if they have
the ability to pay but are intentionally not paying their
child support obligation. If the court finds the obligor
in contempt, the court may order the obligor to serve
a jail sentence unless the obligor begins to meet
certain conditions, such as making regular support
payments.

Credit bureau reporting

The child support agency may report obligations that
are past due to credit bureaus if a parent is at least
three months behind in paying support.

Criminal nonsupport

Obligors who do not pay support and who have
previously had a nonsupport contempt action
initiated against them may be charged with criminal
nonsupport. Obligors may be charged with a
misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or a felony
depending on the number of months behind and the
past-due amount. If convicted, the court may order
obligors to pay fines and serve prison time.

Financial institution data match

The child support agency matches information

about parents who owe past-due child support with
data from financial institutions to find assets. The

child support agency may levy and take an obligor’s
assets if the agency has already certified the arrears to
take tax refunds and the parent is:

At least five months behind in paying a child
support obligation

Not following a payment plan.

Judgment and interest

Child support arrears automatically become judgments
by operation of law. Child support arrears can also be
entered and docketed as judgments with the court.
Entering and docketing a judgment creates a lien

on real property owned by an obligor in the county

in which the judgment is docketed. Child support
judgments (both types) may be reported to the credit
bureaus and accrue interest. The interest rate on child
support judgments is calculated pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes, section 549.09, and is the same as the
interest on all other civil judgments.



License suspension

The child support agency may suspend the driver’s
license, recreational license (hunting or fishing) or
occupational license of a parent who is in a job that
requires a license from a state, county or municipal
board, or from an agency (e.g.: realtors, barbers,
lawyers) if the parent is:

At least three months behind in paying a child
support obligation

Not following a payment plan.

The child support agency may suspend a recreational
license for a parent who is:

At least six months behind in paying a child support
obligation

Not following a payment plan

Not responding to other enforcement actions.

New hire reporting

The child support agency uses data from employers
to locate parents. Employers report basic information
about newly hired employees to the state’s new hire
reporting center. In Minnesota, employers must
provide information within 20 days of the day the
employee starts work. Employers also report when
employees no longer work for them. Every state
sends information and receives data from new hire
reporting.

Other income

If a parent owes past-due child support, the

child support agency may take employment bonuses
and periodic or lump sum payments the parent
receives from state or local agencies, including
unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation
and lottery winnings. The child support agency may
also take assets held in financial institutions or in
retirement accounts.

Passport denial
A parent’s application for a passport may be denied
if the parentis:

At least $2,500 behind in paying a

child support obligation

Eligible for federal tax refund intercept.

Student grant denial
A parent’s application for a student grant may be
denied if the parent is:

At least one month behind in paying a child
support obligation
Not following a payment agreement.

State tax refund intercept

The child support agency may collect past-due

child support from a parent’s state income tax refund
or property tax refund if the parent:

B |s at least one month behind in paying a child
support obligation or the past-due support has
been entered into public record as a judgment

® Owes at least $25 in past-due support

B Has a payment agreement in which state tax
interception is not prohibited.

Federal tax refund intercept

The child support agency may collect past-due child
support from a parent’s federal income tax refund if
the parent owes at least $500 in nonpublic assistance
arrears or at least $150 in public assistance arrears.

Many children in Minnesota’s child support system
receive child support payments regularly. However,
even though we continue to strengthen child support
laws and increase penalties for parents who refuse

to pay, some parents have circumstances that
prevent them from paying their child support and
some do not accept their responsibility. If an obligor
works for cash, hides assets in other names, is self-
employed or actively evades the child support agency,
usual enforcement actions may be difficult, if not
impossible, to implement.

What happens when
one parent does not live
in Nﬁnnesota?

Some of the most difficult cases to enforce are those
in which the parents live in different states. All states
must provide child support services, and with the
Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, interstate
enforcement of child support obligations is improving.
The act includes laws requiring states to work together
to establish and enforce child support orders. State
child support agencies must cooperate and help each
other in handling requests for assistance.

Can a support order be changed?
Child support orders can be changed by court orders
and by cost-of-living adjustments. Either parent may
request that the child support agency review their
support order.

The county child support agency will determine
whether the existing order meets review
requirements. If it does, the agency will complete the
review and file a motion asking the court to modify the
order. If the case does not meet the requirements, the
county child support agency will notify the parent who
requested the review. If a parent still wants the order
changed, they can file a motion asking the court to
modify the order.



The court may change a child support
order if:
B There is a substantial increase or decrease in either

parent’s gross income
There is a substantial increase or decrease in the
needs of a party or the child
One of the parties or the child begins receiving
public assistance
There is a change in the cost of living for
either parent
There are extraordinary medical expenses
for the child
There is a change in the availability of health care
coverage, or a substantial increase or decrease in
health care coverage costs
There is a substantial increase or decrease in
existing work-related or education-related child
care expenses
The child is emancipated.

The court will consider a substantial
change of circumstances and presume
any of the above circumstances
makes the terms of the existing order
unreasonable and unfair if:
Application of the guidelines would change the
current order by at least 20 percent and at least
$75 higher or lower than the current order; if the
current support order is less than $75, it results in
a calculated court order that is at least 20 percent
per month higher or lower
The medical support provisions of the order are
not enforceable
The health coverage ordered is not available
to the child for whom the order is established.
The current order is for a percentage of income,
not a fixed dollar amount
The gross income of a party has decreased by at
least 20 percent through no fault or choice of
the party
A deviation was granted because the child lived in
a foreign country and the child no longer resides
in the foreign country.

The court may also change a support order if
custody has changed.

Cost-of-living adjustments

Most Minnesota basic support orders require a cost-
of-living adjustment every two years. The child support
agency takes steps necessary to get the adjustment
for these orders. Unless the obligor contests the
adjustment in court, the child support agency will
adjust the basic support obligation every other year

on May 1.
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How are support payments
made?

In Minnesota, more than 70 percent of all support
payments paid on cases are made through income
withholding.

If the child support agency is enforcing your order,
child support must be paid to the state, not directly to
the other parent. If you receive a payment directly or
make a payment directly to the other parent, report it
to your child support agency.

Income withholding

The court may determine that child support payments
are subject to income withholding. If the child support
agency is enforcing the order, they will identify and
notify the obligor’s employer or payor of funds to
withhold the child support from the obligor’s income.
After notification, the employer or payor of funds
must withhold child support from the obligor’s
paycheck. The employer can mail a check to the state
payment center or electronically transfer the funds to
the state.

Employers and other payors of funds may withhold
income from one or more checks per month as

long as they withhold the entire amount due every
month. Based on the number of times per month the
employer withholds money, the other parent may get
weekly, biweekly or monthly child support payments
from the state.

If a parent owes both current support and arrears, the
support amount collected through income withholding
can be increased by 20 percent per month to cover
the arrears, unless the court has ordered a specific
payback amount for arrears.

Other payment options

If income withholding is not available, payments may
be made through the following options:

Pay online
Make secure, free online payments from your
checking or savings account by visiting Minnesota
Child Support Online at www.childsupport.dhs.
state.mn.us.

Pay with cash
Using PayNearMe at participating locations
nationwide, including Casey’s General Store,
CVS Pharmacy, Family Dollar Store and 7-Eleven.

Get a PayNearMe barcode using your name
and 10-digit participant number (also called
MCI number) at http://www.PayNearMe.com/
Minnesota or by contacting your county child
support office.



http://www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us
http://www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us
https://www.paynearme.com/s/19232/b/18fkY0/edit
https://www.paynearme.com/s/19232/b/18fkY0/edit

B Using MoneyGram
® Find a participating location at
http://www. moneygram.com/billpaylocations;

nationwide locations include Walmart,
CVS Pharmacy and Cub Foods.

Pay by mail

B Mail a check, cashier’s check or money order to:

Minnesota Child Support Payment Center
P.O. Box 64326
St. Paul, MN 55164-0326

Include your name on the payment and at least
one identifying number, such as: participant
number (also called MCI number) or Social
Security number.

Pay through automatic recurring withdrawal
Complete the Automatic Recurring Withdrawal
Authorization Form (PDF) at https:/edocs.dhs.
state.mn.us/Ifserver/Public/DHS-4117-ENG

Mail the completed form to the
Minnesota Child Support Payment Center
P.O. Box 64329

St. Paul MN 55164-0329

Or, fax the completed form to 651-431-7469.

How quickly does the state process
support payments?

Child Support Payment Center staff receipt payments
Monday through Friday. Within 24 hours of the time
they receipt the payment, they record the payment on
the child support computer system.

What happens to the child support that
is collected?

Federal and state regulations govern how payments
are applied. The child support office generally applies
payments as follows.

If a parent owes support to more than one family,
the state sends a portion of each payment it
receives to each family.

For each case, most payments collected during a
month pay current support first. Current support
is support that is received by the child support
agency in the month it is due. After current
support is paid, other payments received that
month go towards past due support called arrears.

m |f a family has been on public assistance, the parent

who receives support may or may not receive
arrears payments made by the other parent.

How do | receive the support collected?
The child support agency collects the support from
the obligor. In most cases, the child support agency
sends the support collected and owed to the obligee
within two days. Funds collected through certain tax
intercepts may be held for up to six months to make
sure the refund was properly intercepted. Once

you apply for services, all support payments must
come through the state. If you receive a support
payment directly from the obligor, you must tell your
child support worker. You may be asked to send the
payment to the Child Support Payment Center so that
it can be disbursed according to federal guidelines.

For up-to-the-minute case and payment information:

Visit www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us/

Call the Child Support Payment Line
800-657-3512 outside the Twin Cities
metro area
651-431-4340 in the Twin Cities metro area.

To get information, you must know your personal

identification number (PIN) that the child support
agency assigns to you.

What are my direct deposit choices?

To increase the efficiency, convenience, speed and
safety of payments to you, the state sends support
by direct deposit. Through direct deposit, you may
choose to have your support payments electronically
deposited into a checking account, savings account
or stored value card account. After your support case
is open, the child support agency will send you more
information on how to set up direct deposit.

When does a case close?

A child support case does not automatically close
when a child turns 18 or emancipates. Your court order
will tell you when your obligation ends. If you have
child support arrears, your case may stay open until
the arrears are paid in full.

If you are a child support obligee who does not receive
public assistance and you applied for child support
services, you may choose to close your child support
case. However, any portion of your case that is for
collecting public assistance obligations cannot be
closed. If you are a child support obligor who applied
for child support services, you may also be able to
close your nonpublic assistance child support case. In
either case, if you close your child support case, you
will be responsible for maintaining payment records
and the obligor will be responsible for payments due
the obligee.


https://www.moneygram.com/mgo/us/en/
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-4117-ENG
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-4117-ENG
https://www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us/Action/Welcome

Federal law allows the child support agency to

close a child support case. If your children currently
receive public assistance from the Diversionary Work
Program, Minnesota Family Investment Program,
Tribal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
program, Minnesota health care programs, Child Care
Assistance Program or Title IV-E Foster Care, your

case cannot be closed except in limited circumstances.

If your children received public assistance in the past,
the public assistance portion of your case may not be
closed. In general, child support agencies close cases
when an obligation ends and all support is paid, or the
person who asked for child support services requests
that the case be closed and the case qualifies.

How can | make a difference?

We recognize that fathers and mothers are important
in the lives of their children, and we encourage parents
to be involved with their children’s lives whether they
live with them or not. Staying involved is important
even though it may not always be easy.

The more you know about Minnesota’s child support
program, the better you will be able to exercise your
rights and responsibilities under the law, and the
more successful you will be in providing support

to your children.

Tribal Child Support Services

Minnesota’s tribal and county child support programs work together to assist families, promote healthy family
relationships and provide financial support for children. Tribal members may be able to receive services from a tribal
program. For more information, contact a county child support agency or one of the following Tribal IV-D Child

Support Programs:

Leech Lake Child Support Program
218-339-8600
http:/www.llojibwe.org

Mille Lacs Band Child Support Program
320-532-7755
http:/www.millelacsband.com
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Red Lake Nation Child Support Program
218-679-3350
http:/www.rlnn.org

White Earth Nation Child Support Program
218-983-4641
http://whiteearth.com
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http://www.millelacsband.com/

Resources

Child support information telephone lines and
websites provide easy access to child support and
payment information 24 hours a day.

Payment and case information
® Minnesota Child Support Online at
www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us provides up-to-
the-minute case and payment information on a
secure website.

The Payment Information Line at 651-431-4340
or 800-657-3512 provides up-to-the-minute
payment information.

Minnesota Child Support Offices

A list of Minnesota child support offices, including
contact information, can be found at https:/mn.gov/
dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/
child-support/contact-us/county-offices.jsp.

Minnesota Child Support Help Desk

The Minnesota Child Support Help Desk is available
weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. by calling
651-431-4400. The Help Desk can assist with
accessing Minnesota Child Support Online, obtaining
child support officer contact information, and
providing general information on Minnesota’s

child support program.

General information
Minnesota Department of Human Services at
mn.gov/dhs/ provides more information about
child support services, online forms, brochures
and other programs.

Child Care Assistance Programs help families
provide safe, nurturing and affordable care for their
children. Contact your county human services office.

Child Care Resource and Referral can assist you in
selecting a child care provider. Contact your county
human services office.

211 Minnesota Information and Referral is a
United Way-sponsored resource that provides
information and referral to community services.

Call 800-543-7709 to reach their 24-hour answer line
or go online at www.21lunitedway.org .

MinnesotaHelp.info™ is an online directory of
services designed to help people identify resources
such as human services, information and referral,
financial assistance, and other forms of aid and
assistance within Minnesota. It is especially rich in
resource information for seniors and their caregivers;
people with disabilities and their caregivers; parents
and families; and Minnesotans with low incomes.
Visit MinnesotaHelp.info™ online at
www.minnesotahelp.info .

The Diversionary Work Program, Minnesota
Family Investment Program and Tribal Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families are public assistance
programs designed to help families reach self-
sufficiency. Contact your county human services
office.

For more information about these and other programs,
visit the Minnesota Department of Human Services’

website at mn.gov/dhs/ .
CareerForce provides services that help
people find jobs. To find an office in your area,

call 651-259-7501. Information is also available at
https://www.careerforcemn.com/ .

National Domestic Violence Hotline at
800-799-7233 (SAFE) is a 24-hour confidential
service for survivors, victims and those affected by
domestic violence, intimate partner violence and
relationship abuse.

Safe at Home is designed to help survivors of
domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking or others
who fear for their safety to maintain a confidential
address.

Telephone hours: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

Metro area: 651-201-1399

Greater Minnesota: 866-723-3035

Minnesota Relay Service: 711 or 800-627-3529

Minnesota Child Support forms
and information

These child support forms are available at
https:/mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-
families/services/child-support/resources/ .

Full Child Support (IV-D) Services Application
and Information on Child Support Services

Income Withholding-Only (Non-1V-D) Services
Application

Minnesota Voluntary Recognition
of Parentage (ROP) form

Being a Legal Father: Parentage information
for mothers and fathers

Minnesota Voluntary Recognition of Parentage
Revocation Form

® Minnesota Voluntary Recognition of Parentage
Husband’s Non-paternity Statement

® Minnesota Husband’s Non-paternity Statement
Revocation Form

® Child Support Payment Options
® Changing Your Minnesota Child Support Order

® Explanation of Child Support (IV-D) and Income
Withholding-only (Non-IV-D) Services in Minnesota
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https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/contact-us/county-offices.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/contact-us/county-offices.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/contact-us/county-offices.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/
https://mn.gov/dhs/
https://www.careerforcemn.com/
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/resources/
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/resources/
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DEPARTMENT OF
HUMAN SERVICES

Child Support Division
P.O. Box 64946

St. Paul, MN 55164-0946
https:/mn.gov/dhs/



https://mn.gov/dhs/

