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Personal care assistance 
Personal care assistance is a service for people who need help with day-to-day activities so they can be more 
independent in their homes and communities. A personal care assistant (PCA) helps with:  

• Activities of daily living, such as eating, dressing, moving within one’s home, meal planning and 
preparation, shopping and traveling to appointments and community activities 

• Observation and redirection of behaviors  
• Health-related procedures and tasks. 

Services are available for people with physical disabilities, chronic diseases, behavioral diagnoses and mental 
illness. 

Eligibility and services 

To receive personal care assistance, a person must:  

• Be on Medical Assistance or be a pregnant woman or child enrolled in MinnesotaCare 
• Be able to make decisions about their own care or have someone who can make the decisions for them 
• Live in a home or apartment 
• Need help with activities such as those listed above  
• Have an assessment to see if they qualify for services.  

To schedule an assessment, contact your lead agency (county, tribe or managed care plan). The lead agency will 
conduct reassessments annually or upon a change in a person’s condition to determine continued eligibility.  

Program use and costs 

• In fiscal year 2018, about 28,000 people received personal care assistance services at a cost of $629 
million in fee-for-service spending. An additional 18,000 people, mostly older adults, received PCA 
services through health plans at a cost of about $396 million in managed care spending.  

• As of July 2018, 153,611 people were enrolled as PCAs in Minnesota Health Care Programs. Of those, 
43,080 actually provided services during fiscal year 2018.  

• As of July 2018, 722 PCA agencies were enrolled to provide PCA services for Minnesota Health Care 
Programs. During fiscal year 2018, 641 actually provided services to individuals. 
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Regulation 

• PCA agencies are not required to have a state license. However, the Minnesota Department of Health 
licenses some agencies, such as home health agencies, that provide PCA services.  

• PCA agencies must renew their enrollment as a Minnesota Health Care Programs provider on an annual 
basis to assure that they meet provider standards and are qualified to provide services. 

• Individual PCAs must also meet provider standards by enrolling as a Minnesota Health Care Programs 
provider, passing a criminal background study and satisfactorily completing required online training. 

• PCA services must be supervised by a qualified professional as defined in state statute. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
For accessible formats of this information or assistance with additional equal access to 
human services, write to dhs.info@state.mn.us, call 651-431-2400 (voice), toll-free 
800-747-5484, or use your preferred relay service.  ADA1 (1-18) 
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