
Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP)
2016 Legislative Notice to MHCP Members 

The 2016 Minnesota Legislature made changes to Minnesota Health Care Programs 
(MHCP). These programs are Medical Assistance (MA), MinnesotaCare and other 

public health care programs. This notice gives a brief overview of those changes.

The changes will not affect everyone who gets this notice. You are getting this notice so you 
are aware of the changes that may affect you. You do not need to do anything when you get 
this notice other than read it. 

If you have questions about anything in this notice, call one of these:

�� Your county, tribal or MinnesotaCare worker 
•	The County and Tribal Information Directory is available at https://edocs.dhs.state.

mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-0005-ENG 
•	MinnesotaCare’s phone number is 800-657-3672

�� The MHCP Member Help Desk at 651-431-2670 or 800-657-3739 
�� Member services at your managed care organization (MCO). The phone number is on 
the back of your MCO member card

�� The Disability Linkage Line®, for people with disabilities, at 866-333-2466 
�� The Senior LinkAge Line®, for people 60 years old or older, at 800-333-2433

For more information about MHCP services, see the DHS Programs and Services page at 
http://mn.gov/dhs/health-care-programs/

Changes to Medical Assistance
Medical Assistance (MA) is Minnesota’s largest health care program. Most MA members get 
health care through managed care organizations. Some get care on a fee-for-service (FFS) 
basis. If a member gets care on a FFS basis, the member’s health care providers bill the state 
directly for the services they provide.

Changes to recovery of costs for MA services provided to members 
at 55 years old or older, started July 1, 2016
The change limits recovery of costs for MA services provided to members at 55 years old or 
older: the only part of these costs that can now be recovered is the cost of long-term services 
and supports (LTSS). LTSS include nursing home services, home and community-based 
services, and related hospital and prescription drug costs. The law went into effect on July 1, 
2016, but the law applies back to January 1, 2014. 

This means that an estate claim or lien made today for the timespan of January 1, 2014, to 
the present can recover only the costs of MA LTSS for that timespan. 
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However, an estate claim or lien made today can still 
recover costs for all MA services provided to a member at 
55 years old or older before January 1, 2014. If you did not 
receive services before January 1, 2014, but you received MA 
services other than LTSS at 55 years old or older on or after 
January 1, 2014, the law change prevents any estate claims 
or liens.

We sent a letter to people affected by this change in  
summer 2016.

Change in use of spousal impoverishment 
protections for MA for Long-Term-Care 
Services (MA-LTC), started June 1, 2016
DHS must apply a set of rules known as “spousal 
impoverishment protections” when determining whether 
a married person is eligible for MA-LTC through the 
Brain Injury (BI), Community Alternative Care (CAC), 
Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI), or 
Developmental Disabilities (DD) waiver program:

�� New applicants requesting services through the BI, CAC, 
CADI or DD waiver program on or after June 1, 2016, 
are subject to the spousal impoverishment protection 
rules. This means that some of an applicant’s spouse’s 
assets may be counted when determining eligibility for 
MA. People who applied and were approved for the BI, 
CAC, CADI or DD waiver program on or after January 
1, 2014, will have until March 1, 2017, to reduce their 
assets if the new rules cause them to go over the asset 
limit.

�� Beginning June 1, 2016, the amount of a couple’s assets 
that are protected for the community spouse (the spouse 
of the MA member), called the community spouse asset 
allowance, is now the maximum amount under federal 
law for all community spouses. This amount is currently 
$119,220.

�� If the community spouse does not want to make certain 
assets available to the spouse requesting MA-LTC, the 
county or tribal agency may grant a hardship waiver. The 
assets must be in a retirement account that will charge a 
penalty for early withdrawal. Or they must be in a college 
savings plan under section 529 of the Internal Revenue 
Code for a child of either or both spouses who is under 
age 25. 

MA coverage of community emergency 
medical technician (CEMT) services, starting 
January 1, 2017, or upon federal approval, 
whichever is later
MA now covers the following services provided by a CEMT:

�� A visit ordered by the primary care or treating provider 
that occurs after a person is discharged from a hospital

�� A visit ordered by a primary care or treating provider 
to evaluate safety for a person who has had repeat 
ambulance calls due to falls, has been discharged from 
a nursing home, or has been identified by the person’s 
primary care or treating provider as at risk of being 
placed in a nursing home

Emergency MA (EMA) coverage for kidney 
transplants, started July 1, 2016
EMA now covers kidney transplants for people with end-
stage renal disease who are currently getting dialysis and are 
candidates for a kidney transplant. EMA is an MA program 
that covers the cost of emergency medical care for people 
who have low incomes and are not US citizens.

Increase in certain consumers’ budgets for 
Consumer-Directed Community Supports 
(CDCS) under the Home and Community-
Based Services (HCBS) waiver programs for 
people with disabilities, started June 1, 2016
A person who has turned 21, has graduated from high 
school, and was in the CDCS program before graduation 
can have up to 20 percent more funds for planning his or 
her services. This budget increase is available if the person 
can show he or she will have to leave CDCS because 
the CDCS budget is not enough to purchase day or 
employment supports. If you think this policy applies to 
you, contact your waiver case manager. 

Changes to who can participate in a 
MnCHOICES assessment, started  
August 1, 2016
A person can decide who participates in his or her 
MnCHOICES assessment process and plan development. 
A service provider cannot participate unless the provider is 
also a legal representative or family member that the person 
has invited to participate. 



Changes to MinnesotaCare
MinnesotaCare is for people who meet income eligibility 
rules and do not have health insurance or access to 
insurance through an employer. Most people who get 
MinnesotaCare pay a monthly premium. The premium 
amount depends on family size and income. All 
MinnesotaCare members get health care through managed 
care organizations.

Changes to comply with Basic Health 
Program rules, already started
Beginning January 1, 2015, MinnesotaCare became a 
federally funded Basic Health Program (BHP) as permitted 
under the Affordable Care Act. The 2016 Minnesota 
Legislature made a number of statutory changes to 
MinnesotaCare so that the program would conform to the 
federal regulations that govern a BHP.

Definition of “child”
“Child” means a person under 21 years of age.

Social Security number required
People applying for MinnesotaCare must provide a Social 
Security number if they have one.

No requirement to cooperate with DHS for  
third-party liability
MinnesotaCare members are not required to cooperate with 
DHS to identify third parties that may be liable for health 
care costs. Also, MinnesotaCare members are not required 
to help us get payments from those third parties. People 
may cooperate voluntarily.

No requirement to cooperate with DHS for 
paternity and other medical support
A parent, guardian or relative caretaker enrolled in 
MinnesotaCare is not required to help DHS establish the 
paternity of an enrolled child or to help us obtain medical 
support and payments for the child.

Verification of American Indian status
To qualify for a premium exemption because of status 
as an American Indian, you do not have to provide 
paper documentation. Simply stating that you have 
American Indian status is acceptable until the United 
States Department of Health and Human Services 
approves an electronic data source to verify this status. 
Paper documentation is still required for purposes of 
MinnesotaCare cost-sharing protections for people who are 
members of federally recognized tribes.

Advance notice for households with income 
above the limit
If you become ineligible for MinnesotaCare because of an 
income increase, MinnesotaCare ends the last day of the 
calendar month in which we send you 10-day advance 
notice that income is above the limit.

MinnesotaCare premium forgiveness
If you are disenrolled from MinnesotaCare for not paying 
a premium, before we issue a MinnesotaCare bill for the 
fourth month after disenrollment, we will forgive the 
unpaid part of the past-due premium. 

Premium forgiveness started in July 2016, for past-due 
premiums for May 2016 coverage and later. 

Other MinnesotaCare changes,  
starting July 1, 2017

Renewal month for MinnesotaCare
The renewal month for most MinnesotaCare members will 
no longer be January. Your renewal month will be based 
on a 12-month eligibility period that begins the month you 
applied. As always, we will tell you when it is time to renew 
your coverage.

Income determination
Financial eligibility for MinnesotaCare will be based on 
your current modified adjusted gross income (MAGI). 
(MAGI is a person’s adjusted gross income plus nontaxable 
Social Security benefits, tax-exempt interest and foreign 
earned income.) Or, if your income changes month to 
month, financial eligibility will be based on income for your 
12-month eligibility period. 

Date of annual update to income limits
Income limits for MinnesotaCare will be updated annually 
each July instead of each January.



Change to MA and MinnesotaCare
Certain income not counted, starting August 16, 2016, 
or upon federal approval, whichever is later
If a family participates in a demonstration project testing the impact of income 
on brain development in the first three years of life, payments made to the family 
as part of the project will not be counted as income for MA or MinnesotaCare 
eligibility determinations.  

This change requires federal approval to start. An independent team of researchers 
has proposed the project and plans to start it in up to four cities in the United 
States.

651-431-2670 or 800-657-3739
Attention. If you need free help interpreting this document, call the above number.

ملاحظة: إذا أردت مساعدة مجانیة لترجمة ھذه الوثیقة، اتصل على الرقم أعلاه.   

kMNt’sMKal’ . ebIG~k¨tUvkarCMnYyk~¬gkarbkE¨bäksarenHeday²tKit«fÂ sUmehATUrs&BÍtamelxxagelI .

Pažnja. Ako vam treba besplatna pomoć za tumačenje ovog dokumenta, nazovite gore naveden broj.

Thov ua twb zoo nyeem. Yog hais tias koj xav tau kev pab txhais lus rau tsab ntaub ntawv no pub dawb, 
ces hu rau tus najnpawb xov tooj saum toj no. 

ໂປຣດຊາບ. ຖາ້ຫາກ ທາ່ນຕອ້ງການການຊວ່ຍເຫືຼອໃນການແປເອກະສານນີຟ້ຣ,ີ ຈ ົງ່ໂທຣໄປທ່ີໝາຍເລກຂາ້ງເທີງນີ.້
Hubachiisa. Dokumentiin kun bilisa akka siif hiikamu gargaarsa hoo feete, lakkoobsa gubbatti kenname bibili.

Внимание: если вам нужна бесплатная помощь в устном переводе данного документа, позвоните по 
указанному выше телефону.

Digniin. Haddii aad u baahantahay caawimaad lacag-la’aan ah ee tarjumaadda qoraalkan, lambarka kore wac.

Atención. Si desea recibir asistencia gratuita para interpretar este documento, llame al número indicado 
arriba.

Chú ý. Nếu quý vị cần được giúp đỡ dịch tài liệu này miễn phí, xin gọi số bên trên.
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For accessible formats of this publication or assistance with additional 
equal access to human services, write to DHS.info@state.mn.us,  
call 800-657-3739, or use your preferred relay service. (ADA1 [9-15])


