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FAQ: Child Support Parenting Expense Adjustment Law 
This new adjustment law takes efect Aug. 1, 2018, in Minnesota. If you have court-ordered 
parenting time with your child, this new law may impact you. 

How do Minnesota courts determine 
child support? 
The courts use the child support guidelines in the 
law to set a child support amount by considering the 
incomes of both parents and the number of joint 
children. 

What does a parenting expense adjustment do? 
Minnesota courts use a parenting expense adjustment 
to ofset the costs of caring for the children during 
parenting time. 

What are the changes to the law? 
Starting Aug. 1, 2018, the new parenting expense 
adjustment law changes how courts adjust the basic 
child support amount for parenting time expenses, 
based on the number of overnights parents have with 
their children in their court order. 

Will my child support order change 
automatically? 
No. Child support orders will not change automatically 
because of this new law. It only afects parents with 
court-ordered parenting time. See the question 
“What should I do next?” for more information. 

How will this new law afect my child support? 
It depends on the amount of parenting time ordered 
and the incomes of both parents. After Aug. 1, 2018, if 
you fle a Motion to Modify Child Support, the court 
will apply the new law to the basic child support. The 
court may modify the basic child support if the new 
amount is at least $75 and 20 percent higher or lower 
than the current order. 
The basic child support could go up, down or stay the 
same in the new court order. 
Before fling a motion, you can contact your county 
child support ofce for more information or use the 
Minnesota Child Support Guidelines Calculator online, 
https://childsupportcalculator.dhs.state.mn.us, to 
estimate the new amount of child support the court 
may order. 

What should I do next? 
If you have a court order that determines the number 
of overnights (for example a parenting time schedule, 
a percentage of parenting time or the number of 
overnights per year), you may fle a Motion to Modify 
Child Support after Aug. 1, 2018, and the court will 
apply the new parenting expense adjustment. The court 
may modify the basic child support if the new amount 
is at least $75 and 20 percent higher or lower than the 
current order. 
If you have a court order for parenting time but 
overnights are not stated in the order (for example 
reasonable parenting time, parenting time as agreed by 
the parties or reserved parenting time), you may fle a 
Motion for Parenting Time Assistance. The court will 
review your request under Minnesota law and issue an 
order on parenting time. 
If you do not have a court order for parenting time, you 
may fle a Petition to Establish Custody and Parenting 
Time. The court will review your request under Minnesota 
law and issue an order on custody and parenting time. 

Where can I fnd the forms? Is there a fling fee? 
The forms are online at www.mncourts.gov/getforms.aspx. 
Yes, courts will charge a fling fee unless the court 
approves a fee waiver. The amount may vary by county. 
Contact your local court administrator’s ofce for 
more information. 

How can I get more information? 
Visit the state child support website at 
mn.gov/dhs/child-support-parenting-expense-
adjustment/ 

■ Contact your county child support ofce. 
■ Contact your local court self-help center. 
■ Consult a family law attorney.

 Contact us! We can help. 

https://childsupportcalculator.dhs.state.mn.us
http://www.mncourts.gov/getforms.aspx
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/programs-services/parenting-expense-adjustment.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/services/child-support/programs-services/parenting-expense-adjustment.jsp
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Attention. If you need free help interpreting this document, call the above number. 

ያስተውሉ፡ ካለምንም ክፍያ ይህንን ዶኩመንት የሚተረጉምሎ አስተርጓሚ ከፈለጉ ከላይ ወደተጻፈው የስልክ ቁጥር ይደውሉ።

 إذا أردت مساعدة مجانية لترجمة هذه الوثيقة، اتصل على الرقم أعلاه. ملاحظة: 

သတိ။ ဤစာရြက္စာတမ္းအားအခမဲ့ဘာသာျပန္ေပးျခင္း အကူအညီလုုိအပ္ပါက၊ အထက္ပါဖုုန္းနံပါတ္ကုုိေခၚဆုုိပါ။ 

kMNt’sMKal’ . ebIG~k¨tUvkarCMnYyk~¬gkarbkE¨bäksarenHeday²tKit«fÂ sUmehATUrs&BÍtamelxxagelI .

請注意，如果您需要免費協助傳譯這份文件，請撥打上面的電話號碼。 

Attention. Si vous avez besoin d’une aide gratuite pour interpréter le présent document, veuillez appeler au 
numéro ci-dessus. 

Thov ua twb zoo nyeem. Yog hais tias koj xav tau kev pab txhais lus rau tsab ntaub ntawv no pub dawb, 
ces hu rau tus najnpawb xov tooj saum toj no. 

ymol.ymo;b.wuh>I zJerh>vd.b.w>rRpXRuvDvXw>uusd;xH0J'.vHm wDvHmrDwcgtHRM.<ud;b.vDwJpdeD>*H>vXx;tHRM.wuh>I 

알려드립니다. 이 문서에 대한 이해를 돕기 위해 무료로 제공되는 도움을 받으시려면 위의 
전화번호로 연락하십시오. 

ໂປຣດຊາບ. ຖ້ ່ ້ ່ ຼອໃນການແປເອກະສານນ້ ີ ງໂທຣໄປທົ ່ ໝາຍເລກຂ້ ີ ້າຫາກ ທານຕອງການການຊ ີ , ຈ ີ າງເທງນວຍເຫື ຟຣ ່

Hubachiisa. Dokumentiin kun tola akka siif hiikamu gargaarsa hoo feete, lakkoobsa gubbatti kenname bilbili. 

Внимание: если вам нужна бесплатная помощь в устном переводе данного документа, позвоните по 
указанному выше телефону. 

Digniin. Haddii aad u baahantahay caawimaad lacag-la’aan ah ee tarjumaadda qoraalkan, lambarka kore wac. 

Atención. Si desea recibir asistencia gratuita para interpretar este documento, llame al número indicado 
arriba. 

Chú ý. Nếu quý vị cần được giúp đỡ dịch tài liệu này miễn phí, xin gọi số bên trên. 
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For accessible formats of this information or assistance with additional 
equal access to human services, write to dhs.info@state.mn.us, call 
651-431-4400, or use your preferred relay service. ADA1 (2-18) 

http:dhs.info@state.mn.us
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