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Exclusions from Licensure 
Family Child Care 

Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision. 2, describes services that are not required to be licensed.  

Below are the child care arrangements that are not required to be licensed.   

 

Are child care services 
provided for more than a   → NO → Exempt from licensure 
cumulative total of 30 days in                    245A.03, subd. 2 (15) 
any 12 month period ? 
               ↓ 
 YES 
               ↓ 
Does the provider care for      Exempt from licensure 
unrelated children ?                →  NO        → 245A.03, subd 2 (1) 
               ↓ 
 YES 
               ↓ 
Does the provider care for more 
than one unrelated family  → NO → Exempt from licensure 
group? (In addition to any related                  245A.03, subd 2 (2) 
children)        
               ↓ 
 YES 
               ↓ 
Must be licensed 
 
Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision. 13.  Individual who is Related.  “Individual who is related” 
means a spouse, a parent, a natural or adopted child or stepchild, a stepparent, a stepbrother, a stepsister, a 
niece, a nephew, an adoptive parent, a grandparent, a sibling, an aunt, an uncle, or a legal guardian 
 
 
                             
** Please note:  The 30 day exclusion does not apply to persons who are applying for a child care license.  These 
individuals must be licensed before they may operate. 

 


